Friday, July 10, 2009

Featured Friday: Moodyandsanguine

Tell us who you are:

We are Denise LeBlanc and Melina Knox in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The team we are part of is the Earthpath Artisans, and also the Chainmailler's Guild. Denise is an extremely talent writer, having had stories published, and is currently working on her first novel. She is also the chainmailler and jewellery maker/designer. Melina paints when time allows. She is the sewer.

What first made you want to become an artist?

Denise was busy writing, as usual, but wanted to do something visual. She started making jewellery, and hasn't looked back. Melina was a kid who sewed, as her mom was really good and taught her too. She finally fell back in love with sewing after too long away from it.

Describe your creative process and the materials you use:

For jewellery making, new weaves keep her inspired, and she uses aluminum rings and glass beads and some semi-precious stones. For the sewing, the fabrics are the inspiration. She falls in love easily as her growing stash can attest. Lots of different types of fabric are used.

What handmade possession to you prize the most?

Denise loves the quit made for her by her sister Debbie. Melina loves the quit made for her by her great-grandmother, Alma.

Top 5 websites you visit besides etsy?

We love Twitter, Cute Overload, Fat-free Vegan Recipes, Blogger and matt & nat.

Any advice you have for new etsy users?

Hang out in forums, so much to learn, as well as photos, photos, and yes, more photos. You'll take a ton, but will get really good.

What are your favorite features of etsy, and what new features would you like to see?

Love all the different sections of the forums and Melina loves the Quit Your Day Job feature in particular.

How do you promote your shop/work?

We promote using Twitter (but not all links all the time, that's so annoying) it's good for networking and actually fun. We've used facebook, and blogging and plaincraft and project wonderful.

In ten years, where would you like to be?

In ten years, both Melina and Denise want to be living in the country (Annapolas Valley area), and will have property and houses next to each other, though we will live with our own families and finally NOT be roommates as well. Denise will be both writing and designing jewellery, and Melina will be painting and sewing and designing. We will both have tons of animals, as we love them.

No comments: